Cuenca, whose official name is “Saint Ann of the Four Rivers of Cuenca", is the capital of the Azuay Province. The four rivers are Rio Machangara serves as the city’s northern limit, Rio Tomebamba – which means “River Valley of Knives” - divides the historic district and the newer part of Cuenca, and Rio Yanuncay and Rio Tarqui that both flow through the southern suburbs.

El Centro, the historic district, is listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Trust site because of its many historical buildings.

It is estimated the population for 2015 of the Cuenca canton was 580,000, of which 400,000 live in the city proper and the entire Azuay province having a population of 730,000.

Cuenca is located in the Andean region (also known as the Sierra and the Highlands) in the southern region of Ecuador. It is situated at about 2,500 meters (or 8,200 feet) above sea level.

Powered by SmugMug Owner Log In